Our paper was accepted to EuroSys '22!

After an amazing push and a great deal of hard work, our paper on Virtines was accepted to EuroSys ‘22! Congratulations go to Nick Wanninger and Josh Bowden!

Multi-kernel Modeling paper accepted to appear in TPDS!

Our work on modeling speed-up in multi-kernel environments has been accepated to appear in TPDS! Congratulations to Brian and Conghao on the hard work, and in particular to Brian for the journal paper push.

Several HExSA workshop papers published

Several papers involving collaborators from The Ohio State University, Northwestern, and IIT have been published at PDADS ‘21, APSys ‘21, ROSS ‘21, and DaMoN ‘21, congrats to all the authors and collaborators on the hard work!

OpenMP in Nautilus paper accepted to SC21

Our work on bringing OpenMP implementations into the kernel has been accepted to SC ‘21! Congratulations to everyone involved on the successful collaborative effort!

Paper accepted to PLDI '21

Our paper, which was a collaboration with Mike Rainey and Umut Acar at CMU, Ryan Newton at Facebook, Nikos Hardavellas, Simone Campanoni, and Nikos Hardavellas was accepted to PLDI ‘21! Among other things, this work leverages the Nautilus kernel to achieve uncompromising parallelism.

Hale wins CoC teaching award

Kyle is honored to have won the College of Computing's Excellence in Teaching award for the 2020 academic year!

Nick wins CoC undergraduate research award!

Nick won the College of Computing 2020 Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award. Congratulations Nick!

Wang, Sun, Hale, and Jiang at UIowa win NSF PPoSS award!

A team of three IIT faculty ( Rujia Wang, Kyle Hale, and Xian-He Sun) and a collaborator at the University of Iowa, Peng Jiang won an award from NSF to investigate novel architectures for next-generation systems integrating near-data processing.

HExSA Lab wins collaborative NSF PPoSS award with Northwestern and CMU

Happy to annouce that we received an NSF planning award from the Principles and Practices of Scalable Systems (PPoSS) program solicitaiton! This is a collaborative grant with Simone Campanoni, Peter Dinda, and Nikos Hardavellas from Northwestern University, and Mike Rainey and Umut Acar from Carnegie Mellon University.

IIT team wins 2nd place in Pewter bracket at Cyberskyline NCL CTF!

A student team from Hale and Jin's System and Network Security course ( CSP 544) competed in the National Cyber League Capture the Flag competition. They placed 2nd in their bracket; congratulations all!